Are you new to the ObesityHelp Community? Introduce yourself

BeccaE1
on 7/4/14 4:04 am
VSG on 10/21/14 with

I am a newbie hear.  I'm just starting the process for my surgery.  Maybe September.  I've chosen RYN, but might have to have sleeve depending on scar tissue.  The surgeon won't know until he is "in there".  In the meantime, I'm hoping to learn a lot on these boards.  Thanks!!!

Member Services
on 7/4/14 4:25 am - Irvine, CA

Hi BeccaE1,

Welcome to the OH community.  You will learn a lot on the message boards plus get support from members. 

Check out the RNY message board and VSG message board

Marsha3X
on 7/4/14 5:06 am

Hi, I am new to OH. I'm going into my 4th month prior to submitting for approval. I meet with the dietician in the surgeons office once a month, primarily working on paying more attention to foods, keeping a food journal, and during my appointments she will shares tidbits of what to expect and also based on my food journal, things to stay away from and why. It's amazing how it takes awhile to realize food choice bombs, tracking has been helpful. I was previously approved for surgery and had a date set. The day I received my date was the same day I was offered a new job in another city. I decided not to try and push a surgery between jobs and relocating. That would have been a disaster. I have to say though that the pre-approval requirements with the previous surgeons office was much more in depth, very holistic, with support groups, psych appt and mental health group, but no pre-surgery nutritional guidance. I'm glad I kept everything in a binder, and it's nice to have the holistic info combined with my current nutritional guidance. Long story short...my journey is underway and thank you for listening and being a part of my journey as well. At this time, I am hoping to get the sleeve.

Member Services
on 7/4/14 5:44 am - Irvine, CA

Welcome to the ObesityHelp community.  You are well on your way to a WLS healthy lifestyle.