I know I did this for myself but...

kaniky
on 10/27/15 12:09 pm
RNY on 05/18/15

I have to admit that I am a bit disappointed that I haven't gotten more feedback from other people in my life. I've lost 61 pounds in 5 months and while I still see myself in the mirror as the person who started this journey, I honestly thought that others would have noticed and made comment.

I've been working in the same place with 100+ people for 19 years. I think two people have even mentioned my weight loss. I don't know, maybe I'm just having a P.L.O.M. (poor little ole me) kind of day. Did you expect or hope that others would notice and say something or did you want to fly under the radar?

I never said it would be easy. I said it would be worth it.
M1: -15, M2: -14, M3: -8, M4 -11, M5 -8, M6 -7, M7 -8, M8 -4

peachpie
on 10/27/15 1:26 pm - Philadelphia, PA
RNY on 04/28/15

It depends on who I hoped would notice. IE- I saw my son's friend's mother the other day. Hadn't seen her since before surgery...I was hoping she'd acknowledge...but she didn't. I care less about people at work noticing. I switched jobs immediately post-op, so this place has no means of comparison for me. Two have noticed though. I see others who obviously notice (via there stares) who I know will never say anything (cause they don't like me). I just add a little extra pep in my step when they stare ;-)

I had a reaction from someone one day that left me puzzled. She commented I had lost a ton of weight but "all of it was lost from my face". I was actually beating myself up wondering if I'd "only" lost noticeable weight in my face. From there on I realized people noticing can be a double edge sword.

5'6.5" High weight:337 Lowest weight:193/31 BMI: Goal: 195-205/31-32 BMI

sweetpotato1959
on 10/27/15 1:35 pm

I would not worry about it one way or the other. Live your life! Be HAPPY! LOVE yourself!