Abdominal binders post op?

Dukemom
on 11/26/13 9:29 am
RNY on 12/17/13

I saw my surgeon today and forgot to ask how he felt about the use of medical grade abdominal binders for the first week or two?

For those who have had their surgery, what was your doctor's opinion on the matter?  (I'll get a chance to ask again on surgery day, just curious what others were told.)

"Perseverance, secret of all triumphs."  ~ Victor Hugo   

Highest weight:  290; Weight at Surgery:  231; Current Weight:  126 (as of most recent Sunday)

JLS_NJ
on 11/26/13 9:46 am
RNY on 10/15/13

I had one for about 5 days.  Wonderful.  

JLS in Central Jersey

Empty Nester - working toward a healthier ME!

karenp8
on 11/26/13 9:48 am - Brighton, IL

I never used one and didn't really need it.

poet_kelly
on 11/26/13 9:48 am - OH

I was given one in the hospital.  I only wore it for a few days, though.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

MrsLitch
on 11/26/13 9:54 am - Morris, IL
RNY on 06/04/12

I requested one because I knew from past surgeries it would help. He had no problem getting me one and it was a God send for me.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com

5' 3" - HW: 244 SW:234  GW:120 LW: 107 CW:110 Made goal 3/16/13!    

IrrepressibleSLP,
Mistress of Word...

on 11/26/13 10:06 am, edited 11/26/13 10:07 am - VA
RNY on 10/21/13

I hands down recommend asking for one or getting one. The physical therapist at the hospital brought me one and it helped sooo much with walking, sitting, standing up, and moving/repositioning yourself in bed. It really helped with the swelling and the pulling sensation. 

My surgeon was completely on board. I used mine for about two weeks or so.