Can't Stand the Taste and Texture of Bariatric Advantage Shakes

Neesie57
on 7/31/15 11:22 am
VSG on 08/04/15

I have tried all of the flavors of Bariatric Advantage shakes and can't choke them down anymore.  My surgery is scheduled for Tuesday, August 4th, and I was supposed to drink 3-4 shakes a day.  The first day was semi ok, but after that...ugh.  I really like Premier Protein shakes, and have been drinking those instead, to get my protein and my calories.

My husband is concerned that I'm not technically following the doctor's orders, but I think it's ok.  What do you think? Am I going to be ok, or should I drink the ones that I dread?

GeekMonster, Insolent Hag
on 7/31/15 11:54 am - CA
VSG on 12/19/13

Bariatric Advantage has some nasty tasting products.   If your doctor insisted that you drink them, it could be because he has a relationship with the company and receives compensation for pushing their products.  For my preop diet, it was required that I buy a bunch of foul tasting products and supplements from BA.  Their multivitamins are terrible too.

It's ultimately up to you, but I would switch to the Premier Protein shakes.  The goal is to lose weight quickly and reduce the size of your liver prior to surgery.  It doesn't matter which brand you drink, as long as you are drinking protein shakes instead of eating cheeseburgers.

I drink a Premier Protein shake for breakfast daily, even now at 19 months post surgery.

"Oderint Dum Metuant"    Discover the joys of the Five Day Meat Test!

Height:  5'-7"  HW: 449  SW: 392  GW: 179  CW: 220

Kelly L.
on 7/31/15 11:55 am

I think as long as you're getting some kind of protein shake in, you're fine.   But you may want to check with your dr to be on the safe side.

Laura in Texas
on 7/31/15 12:05 pm