Protein type

jamienichols22
on 11/25/13 6:14 am - MI

I was told by my surgeon that premier protein drinks don't have the correct protein type that we need! He advised me that it has whey protein concentrate and that we are suppose to consume whey protein isolate because our bodies absorb it better. I know the way they combined with amino acids are different but if we have the premier protein will it still count as protein even though it isn't the correct type?

Jamie Nichols

HW:321    CW:263   GW:125 

I am a tiger who is earning her stripes!! 

poet_kelly
on 11/25/13 6:20 am - OH

I believe we absorb whey protein concentrate just fine, along with soy isolate and many other types of protein.  If your doc thinks we only absorb whey isolate, does that mean he says not to count the protein in foods you eat such as meat or eggs or cheese?  Because those foods do not contain whey isolate.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

jamienichols22
on 11/25/13 9:45 am - MI

That's why I was asking because it totally didn't make sense to me. I like the adkins RTD shakes as well but wanted to make sure that I wasn't crazy for thinking that it really didn't matter.

Jamie Nichols

Jen Lyn
on 11/25/13 7:14 am
RNY on 11/11/13

thanks for posting about Premier. I will watch my future purchases

jamienichols22
on 11/25/13 9:46 am - MI

No as Poet_Kelly said I think that we can absorb it just fine because not all the meat and diary that you eat has whey isolate in it. I personally think that it is fine to have.

Jamie Nichols

poet_kelly
on 11/25/13 10:11 am - OH