Second round of pre-op blood work?

Dukemom
on 10/22/13 10:40 am
RNY on 12/17/13

On my first round of consults, the medical doctor ordered fasting blood work; they took 17 vials of blood.

I go back (hopefully for my final medical clearance and to meet with the surgeon) on November 19th .  They have also added to my schedule another round of blood work; this time it's non-fasting.  Did this happen to anyone else?  Any clue what they might be looking for?

"Perseverance, secret of all triumphs."  ~ Victor Hugo   

Highest weight:  290; Weight at Surgery:  231; Current Weight:  126 (as of most recent Sunday)

poet_kelly
on 10/22/13 10:51 am - OH

I don't know what they are looking for.  What tests did they order?  Why not ask the doc what they are looking for?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Dukemom
on 10/22/13 11:05 am
RNY on 12/17/13

I thought they had tested for everything possible during the first round.  It took the lab worker 15 minutes to enter it all into the computer.  Quest billed BC/BS over $3,000.  The BC/BS contractual rate took over $2,000 off of the billed amount, then they paid the rest of it because I'm met my annual out-of-pocket maximum.

I'll ask the doctor when I see him again next month. 

Thanks for answering me!

Highest weight:  290; Weight at Surgery:  231; Current Weight:  126 (as of most recent Sunday)

PetHairMagnet
on 10/22/13 11:49 am
RNY on 05/13/13
On October 22, 2013 at 6:05 PM Pacific Time, Dukemom wrote: