Blue Cross Blue Shield Indvidual Plan

danna36610
on 5/25/14 6:48 am - semmes, AL

Hi guys I really need to have weight loss Surgery, my disk in my back is out and it hurts bad for me to walk or stand, standing hurts the most. My medical doctor wants me too have the surgery as a medical necessity, but I have an indvidual plan and I do not know if my insurance would pay for it...

Amy R.
on 5/25/14 8:00 am

We don't know if your insurance will pay for it either, but there's an easy way for you to find out:

Turn your insurance card over to the back and call the 800 number you'll find there for customer service.  They're the ones *****ally know what your specific plan covers.

Good luck

poet_kelly
on 5/25/14 8:54 am - OH

Call the number on your insurance card and ask if they cover WLS.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

pebtash
on 5/25/14 11:13 am
VSG on 11/25/14

Hi Danna 36610, I have Medicare and Federal BCBS so I have checked into the blue cross plans. The only thing I don't know is about a individual plan. But if it is anything like a regular plan is does cover WLS. Basic BCBS do have some requirements to meet first and I know one of them is a three month medically supervised weight loss plan most of them is done by your PCP. But to be sure call customer service. They are very helpful unlike Medicare. If you can I would start a medically supervised plan right now and start the process with a WLS clinic or hospital. The sooner you start your 3 month plan the quicker it can happen.

hollykim
on 5/26/14 1:02 pm - Nashville, TN
Revision on 03/18/15
On May 25, 2014 at 6:13 PM Pacific Time, pebtash wrote: