New to OH, pretty terrified, help!!!

xoxsarahxo2
on 6/30/17 5:58 pm
VSG on 10/19/17

I'm brand new to OH and have VSG planned for the fall, I'm 5'5 & weigh 254lbs. I'm so excited for surgery, yet very scared. Any advice to help me calm my nerves?

redhead65
on 6/30/17 8:32 pm
VSG on 05/19/17

Just keep reading the posts so that you know what to expect, and so that you can see how happy people are with the decision. Pay particular attention to questions asked by people right after surgery. I think it's great that you made this decision for yourself, and your life WILL improve. Just remember that the discomfort is a small price to pay for being healthier!

Eggface
on 7/1/17 5:05 am - Sunny Southern, CA

What specifically are you afraid of maybe we can help put your mind to ease about it.

In general... life changes but like any life change (moves, new jobs, relationships, babies) there is an adjustment period, a few WTH did I do moments, but you settle in and find a groove and soon you can't remember life any other way.

If you are afraid of the surgery itself... mortality/complication rates are super low for both VSG & RNY and inline with many routine surgeries (c-sections, appendix removal, gallbladder) Your medical team will be running a bunch of tests that should reduce risks. They will give you post-op rules to follow (dehydration and infection are the most common reasons for readmittance in the first 30 days so follow post-discharge instructions and sip tha****er) Control what you can control... walk when they say walk, sip water, follow instructions/wound care, etc.... then let go of what is out of your hands.

Having the helping hand of bariatric surgery to regain my health was the best gift I ever gave myself. Hope you will feel the same.

Good vibes being sent.

Weight Loss Surgery Friendly Recipes & Rambling
www.theworldaccordingtoeggface.com

xoxsarahxo2
on 7/1/17 5:06 am
VSG on 10/19/17