NY Times Article: Are Doctors Nicer to Thinner Patients?

kitsyb
on 5/15/13 2:35 am - Mobile, AL
VSG on 01/23/12

Very interesting read and observations, especially since I work in the healthcare industry.

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/04/29/overweight-patients -face-bias/

JenniferRN
on 5/15/13 4:53 am - NJ
VSG on 01/22/13 with

Yes Dr.'s are nicer to thinner patients and are down right mean to obese patients. I see it in the hospital everyday and you know what? They are nicer to thinner nurses too. Since I have lost my weight I cannot tell you how differently the docs are treating me. 

shrinking_sarah
on 5/15/13 5:54 am - CA

People in general are nicer to thin people, so this is no surprise.  Plus, you know, I've lived it.  I think that overweight people get sub-standard health care most of the time.  Hopefully, education around obesity and obesity prevention and treatment is changing to make this better in the future, but I'm not holding my breath.

Sarah, VSG Dr. Cirangle--12/28/12, HW: 265 SW: 253 GW: 130???

linzeelee
on 5/15/13 6:49 am - Omaha, NE
VSG on 05/17/13

I have lived it too...very sad.

Lindsay ~ 5'4" ~ HW (5/6/13): 280 ~ SW (5/17/13): 273 ~ CW: 140
Losses by month: pre-op: -8  M1: -18  M2: -12  M3: -13  M4: -9  M5: -10  M6: -12
  M7: -14  M8: -12  M9: -2  M10: -8  M11: -9  M12: -2  M13: -6  M14: -7

sleevegirl
on 5/15/13 6:56 am - Austin, TX

"“You come in with a headache, and the doctors say, ‘You really need to lose weight.’ You have a sore throat, and the doctor says, ‘You really need to lose weight,’ ” he said. “These patients feel like the doctor doesn’t help them and they insult them, and so they stop going.”

This struck me because EVERY time  would go see my old doctor (granted I didn't like her much and dumped her as soon as I could... no matter WHAT my problem was... it was always because I was overweight.

DUH, lady. I'm overweight... now can we talk about why I might be having this issue that thin people all over the world have?