OMGoodness..THAT was painful.

Michelle H.
(Rainbomama)

on 11/13/15 2:31 am - LA
VSG on 02/27/12

Hi!! I'm an old newbie.  I had vertical sleeve gastrectomy back in 2012, lost 110 pounds and then developed what they thought was thyroid cancer and removed my total thyroid and parathyroids in May.  My TSH level jumped to 84.0 when it's supposed to be below 4.9 and that threw my body into a tailspin of gaining weight, flu like symptoms, sleeping for 20 hours at a time.  It has taken MONTHS for my endocrinologist to get my level down to 5.9, which is still high, but we're getting there.  Anyway, I was gaining up to 5 pounds a week due to the thyroid issue and managed to gain back about 40 of the 110 pounds.  I then developed severe reflux issues that needed surgical intervention immediately. Since my esophagus stopped working, I was not a candidate for the Lynx procedure to fix the reflux issues and my surgeon recommended Roux en Y to fix the hernia and esophageal issues.  Without hesitation, I agreed to the surgery and had it within a week of him recommending it.  I had the revision from vertical sleeve gastrectomy to Roux en Y on October 26.  I have been in massive amounts of pain due to internal bruising and have been unable to care for myself adequately but of course I'd do it all over again because I know I need to get this excess weight off.  Without my son and my husband, it would have been a nightmare though.  I lost 10.5 pounds the first week and have only lost about 3.5 pounds over the past 2 weeks.  I'm not able to walk much yet so I'm not getting exercise.  I'm not taking in a whole lot of protein yet either.  I'm just not finding it palatable at all.  I'm getting in 1 scoop a day at best but I am putting it in milk so I'm getting about half of what I need to be getting.  I will work up to a level that I can tolerate eventually.  I am taking all my vitamins though, so I'm not completely screwing up.  Anyway, the point of my post is to say that I had four ti