Water parks and kindred spirits....

aesposito
on 8/18/15 4:35 am

I was at a water park yesterday with my sister and our partners and kids.  Every so often I would look at a person and just know that they had once had bariatric surgery or otherwise used to weight a lot more than they did now.  You know the look... "normal" sized, loose skin in the places you might expect, big smile, etc, etc (well unless their swimsuit is as ugly and mommish as mine, then the smile is gone LOL).

It made me wonder if anyone ever looked at me the same way.  I almost wanted to run up to them and say "yes, I get it, this is wonderful, look at what we can do!"  Even with my floppy arms and thighs, I am thrilled to be able to climb stairs, slide down slides, frolic with my teenagers and boyfriend at the waterpark, etc... that feeling will never grow old, I hope.

Audrey

Highest weight: 340
Surgery weight: 313
Surgery date: 10/24/11
Current weight 170... 170 pounds lost!!!!

I am not a doctor, but I play one at work.

Laura in Texas
on 8/18/15 5:15 am

I can generally spot them, too. I want to talk to them, too, but never get my nerve up (and they may not want to talk about it which I understand).

I have had plastics on some parts and think I hide the rest pretty well in clothes but in a bathing suit it is impossible to hide my legs. It no longer bothers me. We went to a water park 2 weeks ago and had a great time.

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

aesposito
on 8/18/15 5:38 am

I never thought of it that way... how would I feel if someone came up to me and asked?  I have no idea, really.  I don't keep it a secret, but it's not exactly the kind of thing one discusses in a water slide line.