Slightly OT: Downtime after gall bladder surgery and other questions?

aesposito
on 4/27/15 8:33 am

Gall bladder is finally coming out May 18.  Laparoscopic outpatient, unless they find something hinky in there.

My question: if you have had it out, what was your downtime after gall bladder surgery?  I purposefully scheduled it for after the end of my semester so work isn't an issue, but my SO is wondering how long he should stick around to help me out and fend off my teenagers.

Also, anyone have to go open instead of laparoscopic mid-surgery due to complications from post-RNY anatomy crazy-ness after they went in there?  My doc says every so often it happens...

Audrey

Highest weight: 340
Surgery weight: 313
Surgery date: 10/24/11
Current weight 170... 170 pounds lost!!!!

I am not a doctor, but I play one at work.

rocky513
on 4/27/15 8:52 am - WI

I had my gall bladder out 3 days before my daughter's graduation party (emergency).  I cleaned my whole house and then, the day after the party, we left for vacation.  I felt great!  I was a little sore around the incisions, but not enough to slow me down.  Everyone is different.  I'm sure you will get responses that are very different from mine.  

HW 270 SW 236 GW 160 CW 145 (15 pounds below goal!)

VBG Aug. 7, 1986, Revised to RNY Nov. 18, 2010

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 4/27/15 10:04 am - OH

Mine was laparoscopic BUT with one incision that was a little more than 1.5 inches long because he had trouble getting through the mesh that was used for a hernia repair.  That incision was sore significantly longer that the rest of them, but even that hurt mostly when I bent over or when I was getting up from sitting or sleeping. I was doing everything for myself the day I came home after surgery (the day after... I stayed overnight in the hospital).  I was just very tired for about a week. Easiest surgery ever.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained