How hard is Maintenance?

Toni4321
on 6/4/14 3:07 am

I am only seven weeks out but worry how difficulty maintenance will be.

A few years back I lost 72 pounds, only to gain most of it back.

Since we may begin to feel hungry by then, how hard is this going to veto keep the weight off?

poet_kelly
on 6/4/14 3:40 am - OH

Very likely you will start feeling hungry before you get to maintenance.  Hunger seems to come back for most people between three and six months post op.

I think it's much easier to keep the weight off now than it was pre op because I get full on small amounts of food.  However, I have to make good food choice and I still need to watch my portion size, and that's still difficult for me.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Sarahakers11
on 6/4/14 5:19 am - Culpeper, VA
RNY on 06/04/13 with

I started getting hungry around 6 - 8 months.  I get hungry now sometimes so much so I have to add protein shakes and that seems to help.  I find its typically when I am working out heavy. I think I just cant absorb the amount of calories and protien needed for some workouts.  I find adding an extra protein shake seems to balance that some

HW - 297  start of Pre-op - 290.2   SW- 279.2   GW - 145    

The Depressed Hiker Blog

A middle aged over the hump and over what "I'm suppose to do" woman, with the wild spirit and a nasty case of depression and anxiety!

H.A.L.A B.
on 6/4/14 4:45 am

It sucks..

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"