Side affect from surgery I didn't expect

Lea Terrell
on 2/26/14 3:30 am

Woke up yesterday with pain on my upper left flank right below where your bra strap would be...large rash, burning, sensitive to the touch.  Went to the doctor...SHINGLES... found out shingles can be triggered by trauma to the body ie. gastric bypass.  They put me on some antibiotic, took one yesterday afternoon, one before bed and I am sicker than a dog...can't have any more bowel movements...nothing left...can't drink or eat, makes me puke...don't know how I am going to take the meds today.  Had to call in sick to work and have been laying on the sofa all morning now. Very scared.  Sucks.

RNY - 12/26/2013.  H W: 278.   SW: 230                                                                                                     

poet_kelly
on 2/26/14 3:38 am - OH

Call your doc and let him know the meds are making you sick.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

poet_kelly
on 2/26/14 3:39 am - OH

Oh, and shingles is a virus, right?  So why did they give you antibiotics for it?  Maybe I'm confused.  But I thought it was caused by the same virus that causes chicken pox.  But antibiotics don't help with viruses.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Lea Terrell
on 2/26/14 3:50 am