drinking water

browneyes65
on 1/24/14 3:00 am - IN

can I drink water after my protein drink or taking my vitamins, I don't have to wait.

poet_kelly
on 1/24/14 3:04 am - OH

Yes, you can.  The reason for not drinking right after meals is because it washes food out of your pouch so you get hungry fast.  But liquids, including your protein drink, don't stay in your pouch anyway, so you can drink liquids after drinking something.  And unless you're relying on your vitamins to keep you full, it's OK to wash those out of your pouch, too.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

QoftheU
on 1/24/14 4:06 am - Bay Area/Silicon Valley, CA
Revision on 12/18/13

Hey Kelly - at my support meeting the other day the discussion of swallowing vitamins came up and they said do NOT wash them out of your pouch because they need to break down first prior to passing into your intestines in order to absorb the nutrients.  So now I'm confused.  

Leslie - Band Revision to RNY - best thing ever!   HW: 234   SW: 222  CW: Ticker  GW: 130

poet_kelly
on 1/24/14 4:29 am - OH

That actually makes a little sense.  We absorb the in our intestine, but yeah, they have to break down first.  If you swallow them with liquid, though, the are probably getting washed out of your pouch.  Do they recommend only chewable vitamins are your support group?

My guess is that for most people, they will break down well enough in the intestine.  Since I know a lot of post ops that use vitamins they swallow and that drink with them/after them, it seems if we weren't breaking them down, our labs would be really bad.  But my labs indicate I am absorbing my vitamins.