Anxiety

Coder
on 12/23/13 11:57 am - PA
RNY on 12/18/13

I'm 1 week postop and having some anxiety issues. Is it ok to take my Xanax ?  If so can I just cut it in half or must it be crushed. It is a very small pill. 

poet_kelly
on 12/23/13 11:59 am - OH

I don't know why it wouldn't be OK but if you're not sure, you should probably call your doc and ask.  I don't know why you'd need to cru**** either, unless you have a hard time swallowing pills.  Isn't xanax a pretty small pill?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 12/23/13 12:07 pm - OH

Xanax is pretty small, so even cutting it in half shouldn't be necessary (let alone crushing it)... Unless your surgeon is one who insists that all meds be crushed.  Many people take pills significantly larger than that the day after surgery.  

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

Coder
on 12/23/13 12:10 pm - PA
RNY on 12/18/13

Thank you so much. I knew you would know. Merry Christmas  

QoftheU
on 12/23/13 2:46 pm - Bay Area/Silicon Valley, CA
Revision on 12/18/13
My doc specifically told me I can take them if needed... Amazingly I haven't needed them. Anxiety is a real bugga-boo... I understand... You are not alone!

Leslie - Band Revision to RNY - best thing ever!   HW: 234   SW: 222  CW: Ticker  GW: 130

Coder
on 12/23/13 6:24 pm - PA
RNY on 12/18/13

My surgery was December 18 also.

QoftheU
on 12/24/13 1:06 am - Bay Area/Silicon Valley, CA
Revision on 12/18/13