Second thoughts...

lmcintyre85
on 12/10/13 12:57 am
VSG on 01/15/14

Ever since I have wanted surgery it has always been RNY. But I am so afraid of complications, so now I have been considering the sleeve which both according to my Dr. I am candidate for. I am so scared of all the complications that come with RNY, and I know there are some with sleeve but it just seems like not as many. PLEASE the people that have had good results and not major complications I need to hear your stories. Please

poet_kelly
on 12/10/13 1:33 am - OH

Which complications only occur with RNY?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

lmcintyre85
on 12/10/13 2:01 am
VSG on 01/15/14
I guess I didn't mean just with rny it just seems like it happens more often. Stricture, hernia, gallbladder issues, deficiency in vatimins and yes I know need to take vitamins, obstruction, leakage, perforation.

poet_kelly
on 12/10/13 2:07 am - OH

Well, certainly stricture is more common with RNY.  About 3% of RNY patients end up with one.  It's usually pretty easy to treat, though.

Hernias can occur with any abdominal surgery.  I'm not aware of them being more common after RNY than after VSG, but I guess that would be a good question for a surgeon. 

Gallstones are common with rapid weight loss, whether the rapid weight loss is caused by RNY or another WLS or just a very low calorie diet.  You can take a medication called Actigal which reduces the risk of gallstones from 32% to just 2%, which almost eliminates that risk.

Leaks can occur with either surgery.  I don't know if they are more common with RNY than with VSG.  I'm sure your surgeon could tell you that.