Vitamins

jamienichols22
on 11/24/13 9:00 am - MI

How long after surgery is it before we can swallow pill forms? 

Jamie Nichols

HW:321    CW:263   GW:125 

I am a tiger who is earning her stripes!! 

poet_kelly
on 11/24/13 9:09 am - OH

It varies from person to person.  The ASMBS says it's OK to take vitamins in pill form as soon as you can tolerate swallowing pills. I was swallowing pills about 12 hours after my surgery.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

jamienichols22
on 11/24/13 9:12 am - MI
Okay thank you. I was just asking because I have enough chewable vitamins to do me the first month but Dr office is saying I need to buy three months worth of chewable from them.

Jamie Nichols

poet_kelly
on 11/24/13 9:24 am - OH

Even if you needed chewables for three months (which the ASMBS says you don't), why would you need to buy them from your doctor's office?  They are just trying to get more money from you which I think is really unethical.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

PetHairMagnet
on 11/24/13 9:34 am
RNY on 05/13/13
On November 24, 2013 at 5:24 PM Pacific Time, poet_kelly wrote:

Even if you needed chewables for three months (which the ASMBS says you don't), why would you need to buy them from your doctor's office?  They are just trying to get more money from you which I think is really unethical.

100% agree!