Help...2 days post op

alleyoop
on 8/22/13 6:30 am
RNY on 08/20/13

Just released from hospital today & terrified of getting dehydrated. Does anyone have a sipping schedule they followed? My dr says I can have 2 oz/hr. 

"what's inside is more important than what's outside. people will forget a pair of tacky shoes but they won't forget a tacky heart." sophie hudson

The Salty Hag
on 8/22/13 6:41 am
RNY on 05/20/13
I was told by my dietician "If you're awake, you should be sipping."
My schedule was 4 oz per hour.
Good luck!

I woke up in between a memory and a dream...

Tom Petty

poet_kelly
on 8/22/13 6:46 am - OH

Why only 2 oz per hour?  Seems like you are destined to be dehydrated if that's all you have - if you sleep eight hours a night and get 2 oz an hour the rest of the time, you'd only get 32 oz all day.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

ebtiger24
on 8/22/13 6:58 am - AL
RNY on 12/13/12 with
I kept a bottle of water by me the entire time. I just sipped and sipped. It wasn't hard for me. I drank a lot of fluids before surgery. It was old habit to me. It was jus****er and crystal light instead of diet coke.

angeleigh
on 8/22/13 7:12 am - angier, NC
RNY on 09/17/12

I didnt do a schedule, but I did get a 20 oz water bottle, and marked on it every 5 ozs. I drank 5 oz every 30 mins. sometimes it took me the whole 30 mins to drink it, sometimes not. But it was my way or being able to see how much I was drinking. I didnt measure out 1 oz I just drank what I wanted.

Warm liquids are easier to get down. Or popsicles, slushies, sno cones, since you chew those. If your drinking do room temp.

This is kind of what  I did. with out the straw part!!!