Fusion and B12

gracesmadonna
on 7/6/13 3:44 pm - Hudson Falls, NY

So I take Fusion multi-vit.  I am pretty faithful with it.  But now I am having symptoms I believe are from B12 deficiency.  I tire easily, and keep having this weird numb/tingling on the backs of my hands.  Does anyone else take this multi and still need B12?  I am going to call the doctor on Monday.

poet_kelly
on 7/6/13 4:05 pm - OH

I expect everyone that takes Bariatric Fusion for a multi needs B12.  Because we lack both stomach acid and intrinsic factor in our pouches, we can't absorb B12 from a chewable multi OR a multi we swallow.  We need a sublingual, or the nasal spray, or shots, as stated in the ASMBS nutritional guidelines.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

gracesmadonna
on 7/6/13 4:32 pm - Hudson Falls, NY

That's what I figured but my surgeon's PA clearly said that the Fusion multi was the only supplement I needed.  Is it safe for me to just take it?  I am a nurse and have been taught that there is no real danger in too much of this vitamin.

poet_kelly
on 7/6/13 4:40 pm - OH

Yes, it's safe to take it.  It's not safe not to take it, in my opinion.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Sherrie P.
on 7/7/13 11:46 am
RNY on 02/06/13