Is 63 low for BS after an hour of eating?

Missy A.
on 6/19/13 11:29 am - NC
RNY on 08/17/12

I have been having dizzy spells for quite a while now, as well as extreme exhaustion/fatigue. So the other day my doc sent me home with blood sugar monitor and told me to check my bs when I get dizzy and take notice of when I ate last. My average bs is around 73-78, but this evening was 63 an hour after I ate dinner. Is this low for right after eating? I know my doc said normal levels is 70-100. I don't know much about bs levels and hypoglycemia and haven't researched it yet, so if any could give me some good information and your thoughts I would appreciate it.

Missy

HW:348 Consult W:320 SW:295 Current W:156 GW:140

poet_kelly
on 6/19/13 11:35 am - OH

63 is a bit low for any time.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Missy A.
on 6/19/13 11:40 am - NC
RNY on 08/17/12

Thanks Kelly! Do you know much about low blood sugar or blood sugar levels? Any information that you're willing to share would be appreciated. 

Missy

HW:348 Consult W:320 SW:295 Current W:156 GW:140

Turtle Lynn
on 6/19/13 12:36 pm - New Castle, DE
RNY on 05/29/12 with

70 is pretty much the lowest you want to go at any point in time . . .usually once you drop below 70 you feel pretty crappy and are considered to be hypoglycemic.  I would definitely let your doctor know that you dropped down to 63.