Vitamin D Question

missmomof4
on 2/1/13 10:32 am
RNY on 09/10/12

I know this has been discussed before, but I just had labs done and my Vitamin D was 35. I currently take 4000 units every day of D3. Would anyone mind telling me what they take that keeps their Vit D at a good level? Thanks in advance!

HW 366 SW 318 CW 299
poet_kelly
on 2/1/13 10:45 am - OH

I take 50,000 IU D3 three times a week.

I've talked to lots of post ops about their labs.  I've known two that could maintain a level of 80 (what it should be) on 5,000 IU a day.  Everyone else I've ever talked to has needed at least 10,000 IU a day, and many like me need more.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

missmomof4
on 2/1/13 10:48 am
RNY on 09/10/12

Thanks Kelly!  My Vitamin D has been low for a very long time, even way before surgery. My bariatric team has never said a word about it, but my pcp is the one who told me to start taking the Vitamin D3. She said to take 2000 a day, I didn't think it would be enough, so I doubled it. Obviously that wasn't working either. I will definitely be upping my dosage right away!

poet_kelly
on 2/1/13 10:51 am - OH

Docs often freak out if you tell them you are taking big doses.  But like I said, I don't know anyone post op that can maintain a good level on less than 5,000 a day.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

apurdie
on 2/1/13 12:19 pm - CA