HELP!!!!!

ericc11964
on 12/31/12 9:42 am - NY

I need some advice. Within the last two weeks I've been experiencing a great deal of right abdominal pain that goes not the back. Along with it there has been nausea and vomiting. The pain comes on later n the day usually shortly after eating. The pain has gotten worse and unbearable. I was at the bariatric center today and they think its one of two things. They are treating me for ulcers right now just in case and if the issues continue or get worse within 48 hours to notify hem and they will most likely have oto do an exploratory procedure for a gallbladder issue.  What do you think or what have you been through like this?

poet_kelly
on 12/31/12 9:46 am - OH

My guess would be gall bladder.  Do you notice if fatty foods make it worse?

Why don't they order an ultrasound to look for gall stones?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

ericc11964
on 12/31/12 10:47 am - NY

It seems that it's a almost anything that causes the pain. At times it just hurts to eat or drink. They are treating for ulce know because back in May I had a Petersons hernia and they found an ulcer then.  

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 12/31/12 9:58 am - OH

Yes, it sounds like gallbladder to me too. I have never heard of them doing exploratory surgery to see if you have gallstones since it's so easily seen with ultrasound.  I personally would not allow them to do surgery without having an ultrasound or CT scan first, because every surgery creates scar tissue whi*****reases the chances of intestinal twisting, kinking, or obstruction (which we are already more prone to because if the RNY).