Iron ?

NCwarriorchick
on 8/20/12 1:36 pm
I had low iron levels at my 6 month labs. I am suppose to take 60mgs 3X a day. I know that we must wait two hours between taking Calcium and iron. But due to malabsorpbtion issues how long should I wait in between my iron doses if I am not taking anything else in between?

poet_kelly
on 8/20/12 1:47 pm - OH
However long you want. There is no reason to only take 60 mg at a time, so you can take those three 60 mg doses as close together as you want.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

candace38
on 8/20/12 4:05 pm
I am 10 years out from an open and I have had issues with anemia off and on since my surgery.  My doctors never made a big issue about mixing calcium with iron.  I would spread out the doses because from my personal experience iron supplements can be hard on the stomach, some more than others and the larger the dose the harder it is for me to handle.  I had to try 8 different iron supplements before I found one that doesn't make my stomach upset, so if you try 1 or 2 and have an upset stomach, try a different brand.  The one that I found that finally works for me if called Bifera.  It's a smaller dose per tablet, but it brought my iron up to normal faster than some of the larger dose brands I had tried and they really tore up my stomach, some more than others.