Question about regain...how it happens

MBsRNY
on 7/16/12 3:01 am - Baltimore, MD
I'm still a relative newbie...less than 3 months from RNY...so I get that what I'm experiencing now isn't the same as what life/my appetite/my willpower will be a year or two from now.   I'm wondering if someone or someones can help me understand how one can end up with a lot of regain, cuz right now it puzzles me.  

This is what I THINK I understand now...very simplified:  People regain when, over time, their pouch (or perhaps more precisely their stoma) stretches and they find themselves eating a lot more food (calories) than they burn.  If they drink with meals, it also washes food out of the pouch faster, so that they get hungrier sooner and eat more often than needed for maintenance.  Combine this with making poor choices of foods...ie. too many simple carbohydrates, which burn off too fast and prompt you to eat more and to some degree, too-much fat, boosting calorie count too high for what you're burning each day. 

Is that more-or-less right?   If so, then it seems to me that the volume of food you put in your pouch over the course of a day is critical. And I'm having a tough time imaging being able to eat enough food to cause regain.  That's not based on how full my pouch feels now, but on the sheer amoubnt of TIME it would take to eat enough.  As it is now, I feel as if I spend a good part of my day eating...breakfast smoothie, lunch, afternoon snack, late afternoon snack, dinner.  To eat MORE or more often, because I was eating the wrong stuff and getting hungrier sooner, would mean pretty much eating non-stop all day.    

And if THAT's right, it seems as if it might be almost hard to regain...IF you stick with eating low-carb/high protein foods.  And if you don't stick with eating them, it seems like you'd be feeling pretty lousy long and maybe even getting sick long before you regained most of the weight you'd lost.