Total Newbie Q - Soy Milk, Silk Vanilla

Katrina B.
on 7/4/12 7:38 am - Jacksonville, NC
RNY on 06/28/12
Okay I am just learning here and read something somewhere (I thought) that Silk Vanilla Soy Milk was okay to use to make protein shakes with. 

But reading the label it says 8 grams of sugar and that per label is from All Natural Evaporated Cane Juice from what I see. 

Okay so is this safe to use in replacement of milk or no?  8 grams of sugar seems high to me and I am sooooo afraid of getting the dumps that I figured it would be better safe than sorry to ask some of the vets. 

Would love some opinions so I don't make a wrong choice here....

And sorry that I don't know how to do the little pics of the label but it is Silk all natural Soy - Vanilla
HW: 456 pds    SW: 405 pds    CW: 398 pds    GW: 195 pds  

poet_kelly
on 7/4/12 7:46 am - OH
I would not drink that. 

Cow's milk has sugar in the form of lactose.  It naturally occurs in milk. 

But evaporated cane juice is added sugar.  It's the juice from sugar cane, or in other words, sugar juice.  I would use plain soy milk, or if you want flavored, there is a brand called Soy Slender that has a cappuccino flavored soy milk that I've used sometimes.  I forget how much sugar is in it but it's not much.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

hedrider
on 7/4/12 7:56 am - Midlothian, TX
 Perhaps in small quantities you might do fine.  I use the unsweetened plain Silk.
Heather
Since 2008 my team has raised over $42,000 to fight breast cancer.

Bettisima
on 7/4/12 8:00 am
There is also a silk vanilla light that I used because I like the added vanilla flavor.
wendydettmer
on 7/4/12 8:01 am - Rochester, NY