How do you know if something has NSAIDS?

NCwarriorchick
on 7/1/12 11:12 pm
I got my first real headache yesterday and continued into this morning. I dont have any Tylenol at work. But the medicine cabinet has a generic non-aspirin, that says you can compare to Tylenol pain reliever. How do I know if contains NSAIDS?

poet_kelly
on 7/1/12 11:18 pm - OH
You read the ingredients.  If it says to compare to Tylenol, that probably  means it has acetominophen, which is not an NSAID.  If it has aspirin or ibuprofen, that's an NSAID.  You can always call the manufacturer or ask your pharmacist, as well.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Sara O.
on 7/2/12 1:40 am, edited 7/2/12 1:40 am - NC
RNY on 03/12/12
Kelly, what happens if we take something with NSAIDs in it? Can it make us sick or something? i'm just curious.
poet_kelly
on 7/2/12 2:24 am - OH

NSAIDS put you at risk for ulcers. They do that to everyone, not just RNY folks.  But ulcers are particularly dangerous to us.  If you get an ulcer in your pouch, even a small one, since your pouch is a lot smaller than a normal stomach, it will cover a much greater percentage of your pouch.  If you get an ulcer in your old stomach, docs can’t even do an endoscopy to see it.  They’d have to do surgery.  Also taking a medication designed to coat the stomach wouldn’t help an ulcer in the old stomach because nothing you take by mouth goes in there.

We really, really don’t want an ulcer.