Why do I feel constantly hungry the last 2 days?

bridie_53
on 6/20/12 10:30 am - IL
RNY on 05/16/12
 Hi y'all! I am 5 weeks post op and doing well. the hole in my belly from the infection is almost closed. I have not been hungry since surgery but eating like I am supposed to and following the plan. Today I got to start soft foods. Well for the last 2 ddays I am constantly starving. Even after I eat like within a 1/2 hour. I never feel full so I just kind of gauge it by what my esophagus feels like because I don't want to get over full. 
This feeling of hunger is the same hunger pangs I would have before my surgery when I was "actually" hungry.

Any ideas! (Oh, and I am getting 60-80 gms of protein per day and average around 600-700 cals.

poet_kelly
on 6/20/12 10:35 am - OH
How often do you eat?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

LJ1972
on 6/20/12 10:36 am - FL
Not sure how long it takes, I'm sure it is different for everyone, but hunger comes back I would think for a lot of people. The important thing is to try to go by measurements given by your surgeon (if they were) for as long as you can.
seattledeb
on 6/20/12 11:22 am
 You may be hungry because you ARE hungry. You are eating 700 calories a day. Your body is way pissed off at you. It's used to getting that much for a snack.
The good news is when you advance your diet you can eat dense protein. To me it's the miracle of this surgery. If I eat dense protein first I am not hungry.  It really works. When you read about people further out having regain its often that they aren't eating dense protein first to fill up.

I will share with you my most powerful realization/affirmation...