Potassium powder

MrsLitch
on 6/3/12 10:20 am - Morris, IL
RNY on 06/04/12
Doc gave me a script for potassium in a powder form. The nurse warned us that it pretty much tastes like dog doo. My question is if anyone here has had to take it how did they find was the easiest way to get it down?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com

5' 3" - HW: 244 SW:234  GW:120 LW: 107 CW:110 Made goal 3/16/13!    

poet_kelly
on 6/3/12 10:22 am - OH
I've never had the powder.  I had to take potassium tablets for a litlte while, and they were the biggest horse pills I've ever seen.  Bigger than calcium tablets.  Huge.  Chopped in half, they were still huge.  But they had no taste.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

JUSTJUNQUIES
on 6/3/12 10:27 am - Citrus Heights, CA
RNY on 04/04/12
it IS awful, I had to take it years ago when i was on a liquid diet , they no longer do  that they just have you use full sodium bullion.
Did your doc say why he wants you taking it??? it is very hard on your stomach and can cause all sorts of problems.
I would think if you got dizzy you could do bullion , to much potassium  can be baaaad , just like not enough can be bad. it does come in pill form. i was taking pill form meds the week after surgery

Donna Q. --5'8" -60 years old
Band 2005
hw320 sw276 lw with band 195 gw 160-180? 
Bypass 4/4/2012
pre sw 258 lw RNY 162 cw 203

MrsLitch
on 6/3/12 10:31 am - Morris, IL
RNY on 06/04/12
He said it is the first thing they see typically drop so they put everyone on it for the first 4 months.

Even if he let us take the pill I couldn't I can't swallow pills.