Calorie intake???

slucier82
on 5/29/12 6:00 am - MI
RNY on 04/23/12
I am just over 5 weeks out from my surgery and I have no idea how many calories I should be aiming for?  And do I go by net calories or what I actually take in?  Some one please help me.

poet_kelly
on 5/29/12 6:21 am - OH
I was told it was not necessary to count calories that early out.  If you do count, though, I would count total calories.

All I did at that point, though, was count ounces of liquid and grams of protein.  If you are following your surgeon's plan, you should be getting the right amount of calories.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

dasie
on 5/29/12 6:26 am
I agree with Kelly.  At 5 weeks out, I was doing good to get 30 grams of protein.  I did not consume many calories and did not count them at that point.  I concentrated on protein, fluids and vitamins.  Unless you were eating large volumes, and I can't imagine you are, I would stay on plan regarding protein and allowable carbs, fat, sugar, etc....

tracy L.
on 5/29/12 8:14 am - PA
RNY on 05/21/12