Thyroid (kind of OT)

aesposito
on 3/15/12 5:13 am, edited 3/15/12 5:14 am
My daughter, who has a history of psych issues, just got a thyroid panel done.  Her free T4 was 0.7, possibily indicative of hypothyroid.  Her TSH was 3.1, which is normal according to the reference ranges on the lab sheet, but I remember reading somewhere the endocrinologists would consider 3.1 high. 

Before I go googling and hitting up the people I work with about borderline hypothyroid issues, anyone have any similar experience?

Audrey

Highest weight: 340
Surgery weight: 313
Surgery date: 10/24/11
Current weight 170... 170 pounds lost!!!!

I am not a doctor, but I play one at work.

Day_dream_believer
on 3/15/12 12:54 pm

Not sure if this helps but normal free T4 is .7- to 2 .  Currently the normal TSH is .3 to 5., but .  most people say they feel better with a lower TSH.   I have heard there is some discussion on changing the reccomended levels, but I don't know if it was done.   Sometimes they will treat people with a high TSH that is still in the normal range if they are experiencing symptoms of hypothyroidism.

rbb825
on 3/16/12 2:44 pm - Suffern, NY
I dont' have my paperwork from my Endocrinologist in front of me on the levels for the Free T4 level but I do know that the new levels that the Endocrinologists go by for a TSH for diagnostic purposes is .3 to 3.0  this is the test of choice to go by for diagnosis.  She is borderline - the T3 and T4 are difficult tests to go by if she is on any other hormones like birth control pills or HRT - since estrogen and progesterone will throw off the T3 and T4, so the TSH is what they usually go by for diagnosis