Eating chili

jobe R.
on 2/7/12 1:14 pm - RI
I am a 1 week post op today, and I am eating chili just fine, am I wrong??

poet_kelly
on 2/7/12 1:22 pm - OH
Is chili on your doc's meal plan at this point?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

jobe R.
on 2/7/12 1:28 pm - RI
No but it's soup, and soup is on the list. 

hedrider
on 2/7/12 1:36 pm - Midlothian, TX
 Chili is not really soup.  It's a soft food, maybe a puree although that's a stretch.

What diet stage are you in?
Heather
Since 2008 my team has raised over $42,000 to fight breast cancer.

jobe R.
on 2/7/12 1:46 pm - RI

WELL I AM1 WEEK OUT, AND DURING THE 1ST WEEK I AM SUPPOSED TO HAVE PROTEIN SHAKES, SURGAR FREEJELLO, CHICKEN BROTH, SUGAR FREE POPSICLES, AND CRYSTAL LIGHT.  BUT I DON'T GET FULL FROM THOSE THINGS, DO YOU KNOW WHY? I FEEL LIKE I HAVE TO CHEW ON SOMETHING.

poet_kelly
on 2/7/12 1:53 pm - OH
So soup isn't really on your plan, broth is on your plan.  And chili is definitely not broth.

Feeling like you have to chew something and not getting full are two different things.  The feeling like you have to chew is in your head.  You aren't feeling full because A) when they did your surgery they cut the nerves that tell your brain you're full and it takes some time for that to heal, and B) liquids don't stay in your pouch long so they don't keep you feeling full.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.