Trouble swallowing pills

Mia H.
on 1/30/12 12:38 am - OH
I have been swallowing all my vitamins (except calcium) since a couple weeks after surgery.  For the past week or so, I have been having trouble with the pills.  They get caught in the back of my throat or feel like they are stuck.  I am 7 mo's out and too far out for a stricture, right?   I can eat and drink just fine.  Not sure what's going on, I see the doctor on Thursday so I'll be sure to ask.  Has anyone else had this happen? 

poet_kelly
on 1/30/12 12:50 am - OH
It would be unusual to have a stricture that far out, but it's possible.  However, if they are getting stuck in the back of your throat, that's not a stricture - a stricture occurs between the pouch and small intestine.  I don't have any ideas for you, other than to go back to chewable vitamins if those go down easier.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Keeves
on 1/30/12 12:57 am - Elizabeth, NJ
I've NEVER been a good pill-swallower, but I'm noticeably worse since my surgery. I think I'm experiencing the same back-of-the-throat thing as Mia. At first I was worried, thinking it might be a stricture, but this is happening far too high -- it's in the back of my mouth, at the TOP of my throat, nowhere near my chest.

But it has to be SOMETHING, right? And I can't imagine what the problem is. For comparison, I have noticed it the most with Citrical Petites. Most of my other meds are smaller, longer, and slipperier. But I have problems with the Citrical more often than I'd like to admit.

JJ_
on 1/30/12 1:19 am
If my vitamin (used a pill splitter to make it smaller) gets stuck, I take another sip of water.  It usually is enough to move it down.