How long have you kept the weight off ?

sarah_durso
on 11/17/11 12:13 pm
 Hi All,  I've been considering RNY for a few years now. I've always wanted to try to lose it by non-surgery. Now I'm beginning to think this is the way to go. My concern is I see so many gain the weight back . How many of you have lost and maintained and for how long ?

lahairoi
on 11/17/11 12:30 pm
I'm curious and have the exact same predicament and questions too!  I'm brand new to this site, as of an hour ago, and I'm looking for the same type of information and support . .   I'm assuming if I reply to this I will hear of other's replies also?  Thanks for your post S. durso and I hope I can learn from it too! :)
TysCandi
on 11/17/11 12:37 pm
I haven't had my surgery yet its scheduled for 12/14, however my interpretation of why individuals regain so much weight my because they go back to eating the same foods that caused them to become obese in the first place. I have learned a lot since I began this process since the end of October. WLS is just a tool and if you are not willing to make the permanent lifestyle changes with this tool, then there's no purpose. But that's just my opinion, I sure the vets on here may be able to answer your question from their prospective. But just remember this whatever you put in to something is what you get out of it..

HW: 326  SW: 312  GW:140

sarah_durso
on 11/17/11 12:43 pm
 Yes that's what's I've heard/read as well. I wanted to actually hear from those that have kept it off for years.  So many gain back. 
poet_kelly
on 11/17/11 3:51 pm - OH
When you say "so many gain back," what are you basing that on?  Like, do you know 20 people that had RNY and half of them gained a significant amount back, or what?  Or did you read a study about how many gain back, and how much did they gain on average?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly