Hair Loss

browneyes65
on 4/3/11 4:38 am - IN
I hear there is hair loss with weight loss surgery. I would like to know if you experienced it and how much hair should I expect to lose. I already have thin hair and I'm afraid I might lose to much.  Thanks Diana
poet_kelly
on 4/3/11 4:54 am - OH
How much really varies.  Some people actually don't lose any, though most lose some.  Some just a little, some a whole lot.  It grows back.  I lost a LOT and I think it was mostly due to not getting enough protein the first few months.  I lost it from about month three to six, now it's all grown back just fine.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

gmurn
on 4/3/11 5:13 am - Sterling, VA
I too have thin hair and have lost small amounts (as there isn't much to lose) starting at 3 months. Now at 6 months it seems to have almost stopped. I was self conscious about it, but others didn't seem to really notice much. There really isn't anything you can do to prevent it other than make sure you are getting in enough protein as soon as you can. I do take 5000 biotin a day, though there are mixed views on whether it really helps with the regrowth.
  HW 234  SW 222  CW  159  Sur Goal: 175  My goal 140-145                   

fatoldbat
on 4/3/11 6:09 am