Looking for suggestions.

Jenn77p
on 10/4/15 5:41 pm
RNY on 08/07/15

I'm looking for healthy suggestions for on the go breakfast and lunch. I am a visiting nurse so unfortunately I eat on the run. Mostly in my car during the drive to my next patient. I have a nice cooler but I don't have access to microwave. I have to admit I have never ate healthy. My go to used to be McDonald's and pizza. I have tried having eggs before leaving home but they tend to sit in the back of my throat. At least it seams that way. Any suggestions of protein forward foods to go?

Jenn 77 p

Cathy W.
on 10/5/15 12:49 pm

I have some healthy go-to's that I've relied on to help me when I'm on the go. For me, if I am prepared, I am much more apt to stay on track than follow the drive-thru track to a fast food place.

Since you have a nice cooler, that will be your friend because you can plan what you're going to eat during the day while you're on the go.

For breakfast or lunch:

Take a protein shake that you've made at home and put in a thermos or other container to keep it cold. You can drink that for a breakfast choice.

Bring some Greek yogurt with a little bit of fruit, or chop up nuts at home to give the yogurt a little crunch.

You could get some thin wraps and put in scrambled eggs, a protein and veggies. Put it in a container that allows it to stay warm.

I'll warm up some of the Morningstar link sausages (or veggie patty, black bean burger) and cut them up. I'll munch on those because they are good hot, warm or even cold.

For breakfast or lunch, take some thinly sliced turkey, ham, protein of your choice and a thinly sliced piece(s) of cheese, and a few crackers or veggie strips. Make pinwheel roll-ups with each of those ingredients. Mix and match for your favorite combos.