Need help to get restarted.

James R.
on 2/4/07 7:20 am - Katy, TX
I had my lap band procedure abut fifteen months ago. I quickly lost 45 pounds, was feeling really good about myself, but got off the program. I travelled a lot with my job, then in the fall had prostate surgery which limited my activities. I do not eat much but right now am addicted to sweets. How do I get back on the program? I would like to lose another 60 pounds and get serious about my life again. I need some help and encouragement from others that may have been in the same situation.
Dx E
on 2/4/07 10:38 am - Northern, MS
Hey James Sorry to hear you're having a time of it. Have you brought it up with your doc? If it's the sweets, then another fill may not be of much help specifically But it may keep you full longer And cut back on over all eating? I have no real first-hand experience with the re-gain, But have read many who have fallen off the plan then got back on With amazing results over on the Grads Board. Maybe give them a look? At- http://obesityhelp.com/forums/wls_grads/ There's an ongoing "Back-On-Track-Buddies" Post there, That may have some very specific helpful info for you. A member of my support group said she found herself In exactly that same predicament. The Dr.'s Recommendation? "Start Over!" He had her go back to a week of Liquids, Followed by Pureed, the Mechanical Soft, etc... The plan was to Learn to use the Pouch. And Establish new habits through Drastic action. She had skipped the "Learning" part her first time out. She now is at goal and said that- "Putting the Hard part of re-Learning how to eat At the beginning, made the later part much easier." Sounds like the "Sweet addiction" needs to be dealt with. Counseling is worth it's weight in gold where Emotional is concerned. Some find a prescription of Wellbutrin Helps immensely. (if that's the case.) Do something drastic like throwing out all of the sweets in the house. Flush 'em if you've got 'em! It's a lot easier to Avo