I'm a fibromite, considering WLS...

knitteakitty
on 2/8/12 7:03 am
So, I'm new to OH, and to the thought of WLS. I've gained and lost a bazillion pounds on various diets. Dr. Oz did a bit on Gastric Bypass, and said some things that gave me pause to consider if it's right for me. I know sooner or later the weight will kill me if I don't get rid of it for good.

So, having fibro means EVERYTHING hurts. How will this affect me if I go ahead and get surgery. Any thoughts on fibro reactions, pain response, etc?

Any thoughts are appreciated :)

Dawnyel B.
on 2/8/12 12:12 pm - Whittier, CA
I had WLS in 2007, and I was dx Fibro last month. It took me longer to recover than my mom or husband to recover but otherwise everything  was fine!

dianeg49
on 2/8/12 2:11 pm
I have had Fibr going on 5 years now. Unfortunly WLS has made no difference in my Fibro attacks. But on the good side my fibro has not caused major problems with my being banded. I find the biggest problem is when I am in a two week long flare and the pain is crazy, my band seems to tighten up and it is a little harder to eat. I just have to not let my self get super hungry. Also I dont want to exercise when I am in a flare,but I usually make myself. It doesn't make it any worse.
Dianeg49            
Hislady
on 2/9/12 8:09 am - Vancouver, WA