Questions about DS. Any regrets?

sonyamarie75
on 6/1/13 6:55 am - OH
RNY on 08/20/13 with

I am in the process of doing my meetings with the dietician and have one more month left before I can submit to insurance. All along I had planned to do RNY but now I am reconsidering and thinking about DS. 

When I went to the seminar the surgeon stated he did DS and its listed on his website. He said that because the success is pretty close to RNY and RNY is less risky he usually recommends RNY over DS but will do DS if thats what the patient wants. (Its Peter Lalor at Wood County Hospital in Ohio) by the way. He worked with Dr Hess I thin****il he retired. 

I dismissed DS in the beginning because of worries about loose stool. I'm a nurse. That would be a pain. 

I'm curious for those of you who had the surgery, did you have lots of problems with this? Would you have the same surgery again? Or if you could choose again, would you have chosen a different surgery?

Have most of you been able to keep the weight off you lost? It seems like DS has better long term weight loss, which is why I am interested. 

Thanks for your help. 

Sonya B, Toledo, Ohio- RNY  08/20/13  

MajorMom
on 6/1/13 7:06 am - VA

I've had zero complications and zero regrets. I'd do it again in a heartbeat. I'm almost 6 years out and only 4 pounds above my very lowest goal weight or currently 22.5 BMI.

Most folks find that they can control their bowel issues by staying low carb, and initially, lactose free and gluten free. What I've read here and other boards is that most dietitians don't get the low carb thing and stress low fat for us. I read Dr Hess's web site years ago and it said something like fat is your friend. I don't know if that has carried over to Dr L's practice. Some DSrs actually get constipated if they don't have fat in their diets. It's a your mileage may vary kind of thing.