No carb bread/buns

beemerbeeper
on 2/12/13 10:22 am - AL

http://www.food.com/recipe/carb-free-cloud-bread-411501

I used cream cheese and slathered them with butter, splenda and cinnamon right out of the oven.  Wow.  Last time I tried I didn't whip the whites and cream of tartar long enough with my little hand mixer.  This time I spent a lot more time but wish I had a "real" mixer.  I can't believe I've been missing out on this for 3+ years.

~Becky

MsBatt
on 2/12/13 12:18 pm

What kind of hand mixer do you have? You can  buy a perfectly adequate hand mixer at Wal-Mart for around ten bucks. (And trust me, I do a LOT of cooking!)

beemerbeeper
on 2/13/13 4:25 am - AL

That is what I have but it is old.  On high it took about 10 minutes to whip the egg whites.  I will probably burn out the motor because you know I am making these again.  lol.

~Becky

LadyLucky
on 2/12/13 12:46 pm - KS

I am absolutely going to try these!  I'm curious how many grams of protein are in egg whites.  Gonna check that out too.  Thanks for sharing!

beemerbeeper
on 2/13/13 4:24 am - AL

You use the whole egg.  Isn't one egg about 7?  I did not put them in baggies and wait overnight.  I ate the whole lot of them as soon as they came out of the oven.  DELICIOUS with butter and MORE delicious with butter splenda and cinnamon.

~Becky

LadyLucky
on 2/12/13 12:57 pm - KS

Here's the nutrition breakdown according to that recipe with a yield of 10 pieces:

cals: 38kcal
fat: 3.01g 
carbs: 0.37g 
prot: 2.22g

Maybe use it like bread and toss on a cooked egg and sausage patty for more protein.  Now I'm hungry.

beemerbeeper
on 2/13/13 4:26 am - AL

Multiply by 10 because I ate all of them!!  3.7 carbs and 22.2 g of protein. 

~Becky

b1751
on 2/12/13 6:18 pm

I tried these before surgery and was pretty impressed for a bread substitute.  I used 2 of them as the bun for a cheeseburger.  They just lack that "chew" that bread has.

Lap DS with Dr. Kemmeter 12/17/12

HW: 274.5 -- SW: 266 -- GW: 130?