Wanted RNY, now Leaning toward DS..Thoughts? Questions..

whatthehair
on 3/7/12 7:11 am - Kalamazoo, MI
Hi all! I'm Jessica, and I'm from Michigan. I JUST had a referral request sent from my PCP to WLS Surgeon. I've been researching different options of WLS for about 3 years. Maybe that's not very long to some, but for me, I feel like this has been a long time and I feel like I have all the information I need to proceed with WLS except for a few things. And these things I wanted to ask to Post DSers, newbies, AND experienced lol!
The reasons I lean toward the DS are:
  "normal" stomach as far as pyloric valve in tact, and working.
  No Dumping Syndrome
  Statistics show better results longer
  Less chance of regain, of course with given we make the right choice

What scares me:
  Greater risk of complications vs RNY
  The More Bathroom trips, GAS
  More Malnutrition vs RNY

So, how do you feel about these things? What are your personal experiences? Why did you choose DS, and what options did you consider? 

About me: I'm 30 years old, 350lbs, and I don't remember the last time I was under 265lbs. I've been "chubby" my WHOLE life. I have dieted, lost maybe 20 lbs here and there, and always gain back with interest. I have 2 little boys that I want to be more active with, and I want to watch them grow up! My Mom and her parents both battle Diabetes and High BP that's weight related. I'm headed in that direction if I don't do something now.

I DONT want to be one of the people I know who've lost with RNY, and 4 or 5 yrs later they are consistently gaining back, and I feel with the DS, and with proper use of my new tool, that may be better for me....

Did anyone else feel like this too?
I'm sorry for the rant, but I'm actually excited about the referral, cannot wait to go to my first appt, and want to be ready with which surgery I feel is best for me and why. Thanks everyone!!