Question about chewable vs. regular vitamins

z_m14
on 7/19/16 7:28 pm
RNY on 07/05/16

My NUT recommends chewable vitamins for new post-op patients. She also recommends that we take bariatric-formulated chewables because regular vitamins might not absorb as well.

What do you guys take? Since I'm only two weeks out, I ordered a few pills from Bariatric Advantage, but I'd love to switch to a cheaper alternative. Do I really need to take chewables for life, and do they have to be the specialty bariatric ones? I would love to get my vitamins at Walgreens where I can buy one bottle and get another free. I'm a college student, so money can be tight sometimes. 

If the chewable BA are the best, I would continue taking them, but if the generic pills are just as efficient, I'd like to switch to them.

SoCalDee
on 7/19/16 7:47 pm
VSG on 06/24/16

I ordered most of the  chewable ones from BA too but if Nature Made had an alternative I ordered those instead.

I don't think my surgeon said I had to use the BA ones, they just suggested it.

5'0 Heaviest 247.4 Surgery Weight 236.0  Goal 140

*Believe in yourself and you will be unstoppable*

Laura in Texas
on 7/19/16 8:31 pm

I do cheap ones from CVS and Walgreens. I am almost 8 years out and my labs have always been good. 

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

CMR1075
on 7/19/16 8:51 pm
VSG on 01/15/16

Good to know because I have been stressing about the types of vitamins, whether cheaper ones were good or not. I'm about to get my 6 months post op labs done and worried about the outcome. What do you take daily? I take 7 different vitamins and hoping it's enough. 

Valerie G.
on 7/20/16 5:00 am - Northwest Mountains, GA