Body self-image...

jamrodriguez
on 8/20/15 5:51 pm

It can be weird when everyone around you starts telling you how much smaller you look, when you haven't really started to see it yourself. Sure, I have noticed my clothes fit better, and some are too big to wear, but as far as seeing it in the mirror, or feeling different in my physical space... not so much. Today as I was opening my store, I caught my reflection and for the first time I actually saw a smaller person than I was used to looking back at me. It was a really strange moment. When did you start noticing your reflection changing?

(deactivated member)
on 8/20/15 6:08 pm
RNY on 05/04/15

This is my life now, and I have no idea when (or if) I'll start seeing a change in my reflection. I work in healthcare in a department where we're very open about our own medical issues, and despite all the comments I get from coworkers, I don't see myself any smaller in the mirror. I do when I put my progress pictures side-by-side. I also notice little isolated things, like my collarbones and hip bones and of course my clothes, but I still can't see the forest for the trees. A few weeks ago I had an off-site training for work. I got in an elevator, almost bumped into someone, and said "excuse me" before realizing I was alone in an elevator with mirrored walls.  

Bonroxie19
on 8/20/15 7:50 pm

lol, love that story....

Bonnie RNY 2/11/15 by Dr. Takahaski

5'3" SW 230 pounds, GW per Dr. Takahaski 150 pounds, CW 132 pounds (10/1/17)

BMI 19% Bod Pod test 1/29/17 13.1 mile half marathon, 1 hour 59 mins (8/21/2017)

Dan1962
on 8/21/15 6:16 am - Syracuse, NY
VSG on 09/23/14