Brand new member Looking for some advice

LadyOdd
on 7/30/14 4:30 am

Hello everyone! I am brand new to this I found it after reading a few blogs online. And this looks like just the right place to help me get some information and support while I attempt to get surgery. I have not yet started the process exactly. I did contact a local doctor here and they did let me know that my insurance will cover this type of surgery. That made my heart do happy flips :)

There are some things of course that need to be done first, basically everything, lol. So the advice I am looking for is this- I just got the information on who my pcp is. i have not set up an appointment to see him yet. I haven't really had a pcp since I was a teenager. I only had a regular ob back before I moved to AZ. I am not sure how to set up the first appointment. Do I just tell them it is for an evaluation, do I mention when I set the appointment that I am looking into WLS? I have never made an appointment like this. Any advice would be beyond helpful.

My other question is how do I bring this up to the dr? I mean when he sees me he will be aware of course that I am obese. No hiding that. Do I just come right out and say I want a referral for the gastric sleeve?

Anyone who has any advice for me I would appreciate it. Hopefully none of you will get bored with all the questions I may ask :)

Everyday is the opportunity to begin anew 

Valerie G.
on 7/30/14 4:49 am - Northwest Mountains, GA

Call insurance first and ask what exactly they require for pre=approval.  It may be a referral, or even just a note from the doc supporting your decision. They may also require a psych eval, etc.  For your new PCP, set up an appt for a physical since you're new (they'll want that) and you can work that into your conversation.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

LadyOdd
on 7/30/14 5:01 am