Brand new VSG hopeful

BlessedMama
on 11/20/13 10:45 pm
Hi all! I'm brand new to this....just went to the seminar on Tuesday. I'm looking to get the VSG done around May or June of 2014. (My insurance requires 6 months dr supervision prior to wls.) So my question it's a broad one....what do I need to know, and what do you wish you knew when you were where I am now?
Member Services
on 11/21/13 12:43 am - Irvine, CA

If you have not done so already, please be sure to post this on the Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy Forum (VSG) to get more responses from those that are having and or have had the same surgery  

hollykim
on 11/21/13 5:14 am - Nashville, TN
Revision on 03/18/15

you can learn everything you need to know. Simply by reading all the threads on the VSG forum every day. Every question. You could possible have is answered at least once every day.

gl

Sparklekitty, Science-Loving Derby Hag
on 11/21/13 8:16 am
RNY on 08/05/19

If you want to get going on your research, I highly recommend the "Weight Loss Surgery for Dummies" book. It describes the whole process and answers pretty much every question you might have!

The other thing I would suggest is starting a notebook or folder. Keep track of all of your paperwork from the doctor and insurance company, everything that's scheduled or required. There's a lot to organize and it helps a bunch!

Good luck, and congrats on getting started!

Sparklekitty / Julie / Nerdy Little Secret (#42)
Roller derby - cycling - triathlon
VSG 2013, RNY conversion 2019 due to GERD. Trendweight here!

MsBatt
on 11/21/13 10:30 am

I'm going to tell you what I tell every newbie---RESEARCH EVERYTHING. There are four forms of WLS---LapBand, VSG/Sleeve, RNY/gastric bypass, and DS/duodenal switch. You need to fully understand them all before you can make an informed decision about which is right for you.