My progress (GOAL!) and a question for all of you!

Lauren Vento
on 8/1/13 4:08 am, edited 8/1/13 8:21 am - Lake Elsinore, CA
VSG on 09/08/12

Hey Everyone!  I had weight loss surgery a year ago, reached my goal and have gone even further beyond anything I could have dreamed of.  I am currently studying to be a Certified Wellness Coach with a focus on helping those who are considering or have had weight loss surgery.  I personally believe that the difference between success and failure after the procedure is more related to our mental health more than what is on the end of the fork.   Our surgeons can give us a list of what to eat, but until we deal with our internal struggles, we can easily fall back into old habits.  

My question for all of you who have had the surgery (or even the ones who haven't) what do you believe is the biggest mental hurdle you've come across in you're journey?  What you you think you needed to change in your life aside from physically and nutritionally that would have aided you in your journey?    Thanks every for your input!

Lauren http://www.thehappiestwomanalive.com

Certified Life Coach & WLS Support Coach

BlancheJackson
on 8/1/13 5:07 am - Butler, PA

First.. just let me say WOW!!  You look fantastic!!!!

OK.. for me.. my personal biggest mental hurdle as been dealing with the death of my son at 18 mths post-op.  Just when I should have been focusing on myself, diet, exercise and keeping the weight off... tragedy struck and ... I lost focus.  I basically no longer cared about myself.. just spent years worrying about my other family members, helping them, trying to come to terms with our loss.. and putting everyone else first!.. I fell back into old habits very easily.. at a time when my body started tolerating more foods, sugar, etc.  The worst possible timing surgery wise.  UGH..