First Sonogram

MediumSoon
on 5/11/11 8:56 am - TX
 Yep.  You guessed it.  Gallstones...  14 (that we could SEE - probably more).  Jeepers...  Having gall bladder out first week of June.  Hope this surgery is as smooth as the last...

(deactivated member)
on 5/11/11 9:02 am
Boo!!!!

I am glad they caught this when they did!

Get them things out and get well soon!!!!!!!!!!
heathermc44
on 5/11/11 9:06 am - Bremerton, WA
 That seems like a long time to wait to get it out.  Hopefully you won't have any attacks between now and then.  So sorry to hear you have to go through this.  

MediumSoon
on 5/11/11 9:11 am - TX
Funny thing is - I had NO idea. I agree - hope no attacks before then - but I'm a teacher. With only a few weeks left of school it would be silly to miss time unless it was an absolute emergency. I'm glad they caught it now though - I've met my maximum out of pocket for the year so this surgery will be covered at 100%. Thank goodness!!

cabcab
on 5/11/11 9:18 am
VSG on 01/06/11 with
When I started ultrasound school we would practice on each other.  One of the first days I was the "patient" and a fellow student was scanning me and the teacher came over and asked if I'd ever had any gallbladder problems.  "I dunno," was my answer.  She said I had them.  After doing a lot of research I found out that the three times I had been in the emergency room over the two previous years for chest and upper back pain was most likely due to gallstones and not "esophogeal spasms" as they kept telling me it was.  I had it taken out the day after school ended because I didn't want to risk finding a job and having that pain start up again and have to ask for time off to have surgery.  It was an easier recovery than my VSG, of course I was 15 years younger!

You can ask for your gallstones if you want to keep them.  I kept my gallstones for a long time, not sure why.

I hope your surgery goes well.
    HW: 335.  SW: 318.  CW: 161.0.  Height 5'8.  Age 43.

MediumSoon